August 18, 2014–Candeais, BRAZIL

Hey familyyyy okay gonna make this quick.

1st of all we had a miracle/tender mercy baptism yesterday at 8:00 am before church! Evelyn is 11 and she has been going to church for 5 years now with her older sister who’s already been baptized. Her sister came up to us on sunday saying hey I want you guys to teach and baptize my sister. I didn’t even know Evelyn wasn’t baptized, apparently her mom didn’t want her to be until she was older and then once the elders (a while back our area had elders) started coming by trying to help her be baptized Ana (mom) got fed up and told them to not come back. I guess ever since Evelyn has just been patient and well, when we went there this week to talk to her parents they said she could be baptized. She will be turning 12 next month! Imagine going from primary to Young Women’s and not being baptized….strange.
The baptism was awesome EVELYN IS SOOOO CUTE!!!!!! Her jump suit was a little big so we had to make some last minute adjustments but it was awesome. Her cousin who’s 16 baptized her (he was so nervous but excited). They are incredible these kids. None of their parents are members but they go(WALKING)to ALL the activities weekly, church every sunday 9:00 on the dot , they bare their testimonies on fast sundays etc. it’s incredible to see the faith and dedication these kids have to the gospel of Jesus Christ. It’s another proof to me that this is the true gospel of Jesus Christ. You don’t need to go because mom or sad said so, but because you WANT TO. Because you feel in your heart that it is right…a good seed 🙂 (alma 32).
So Tito and Fatima are good except that they weren’t at church sunday because Fabiana (their daughter) is in the hospital with a urinary infection of some sort. So we don’t know if they’ll be going to the temple this week (the caravan was post poned for this upcoming week. But we committed them to be baptized on the 30th. They said if by that time they know that this is true they will be baptized. We’re praying for them. I so badly just want to hand them my testimony but I know I can’t…..the spirit will teach and testify to them in the Lord’s way and time. I just hope we can follow up with them, it’s difficult because they leave to go to the hospital to stay with Fabiana in the city and come back late at night or sometimes sleep over there. I know following up is SO important for helping investigators keep commitments. If we don’t follow up, the adversary will. Please continue to pray for them and their family.We taught Fabio yesterday and he should be receiving the Aaronic priesthood next week!
Sunday in gospel principles our teacher talked about missionary work/his mission. He asked me to share my thoughts about the mission…knowing that I’ll be finishing soon. It was so strange,surreal. But I was happy to share a little of what I felt with the recent converts and investigators in that class. I felt such a love for them. REally all of the members in this ward I love. I love Candeias, I know Heavenly Father put me here as my final area because boy am I happy.
Speaking of loving the people, this week we did divisions with the STL’s and Sister Kron and are were doing a follow up and feedback session. She told me that she talked with the ZL’s about what she could do to help me on my last division/exchange. They said something a long the lines of “Sister McCleve is awesome, just help her be strong and not trunky like most missionaries going home and you’ll be fine” hahahaha. Afterwards she told me that she felt my love for the people I teach, sincere and full. She said so often we hear missionaries that almost brag about how much they love people when it’s with other missionaries but when you’re IN a lesson with no one else…just you and the investigator that in that moment that love needs to be expressed/felt. I have prayed so hard through out my mission to develop this love and so often I feel like it’s not very strong but I don’t know…hearing sister Kron telling me that was an answer to a prayer for sure. I am glad to know that my efforts are making a difference. I often think to myself “Do my investigators know that I love them? That I love the Savior? That I want them to know Him?” I want to leave this people with no doubt about my love for them and for this gospel. That I am sharing it WITH them because this isn’t about me, but having them enjoy the blessings that I already have. What is my motive for serving a mission??? My love for the Lord. Doing His will, by helping other people come unto Him. I am not a perfect missionary, person, companion, daughter, sister….but I know that I have a part to play in this plan of our Heavenly Father. My mission is a smidgen of time in that plan. But it will effect the rest of my life so I want to keep doing what I am doing and leave with NO REGRETS.
EVERYONE this week has been asking me if I’m trunky, how I’m feeling in my last transfer etc. It’s annoying but faz parte da missão haha. I guess I can just use these questions to my advantage like my dad’s email read today ” Realize how little time you have left to make a difference.  It will make time fly and give you more great spiritual insights as you continue to focus on the work.” amen and amen. Little time left so MAKE IT COUNT 🙂
Love to you all,
Sister McCleve
Divisão com Sister Kron!

Divisão com Sister Kron!

She was in Geoffrey's MTC district

She was in Geoffrey’s MTC district

Sister Silva

Sister Silva

Toyota carola limo????

Toyota carola limo????

Someone forgot to put on sunscreen;) woops Braid tan-line in the future haha

Someone forgot to put on sunscreen;) woops Braid tan-line in the future haha

Companion wonderment

Companion wonderment

Pretty sky in our area

Pretty sky in our area

Pernambuco love

Pernambuco love

Evelyn's baptism! Her dad came-sadly her mom didn't :(

Evelyn’s baptism! Her dad came-sadly her mom didn’t 😦

Evelyn's baptism!

Evelyn’s baptism!

 And her cousin Claudio baptized her. He's 16

And her cousin Claudio baptized her. He’s 16

Evelyn's baptism

Evelyn’s baptism

Leave a Reply

