May 26, 2014–Candeais, BRAZIL (Semana 7)

Oi family!

So this week we had some ups and downs. Cool story was with one of our investigators (Nilda) who we thought was avoiding us said she had read the restoration pamphlet we left with her EVERY night before she went to bed. Sweeeeeeeeet! Haha we gave her a book of mormon this time and she accepted to read and pray to know if it true, I hope she has the same enthusiasm to read the BOM as she did with the pamphlet. She has a huge smoking problem so we want to fast for her to quit smoking, I know without a doubt she can stop especially with the spiritual strength she’ll feel as she reads the Book of Mormon. Exciting.
Also we found another new investigator named Ilda who had a client (she’s a hair stylist) that was mormon for 6 years. She’s already been to church in the passed and loved it! We met with her briefly yesterday and invited her to the RS activity tomorrow night. She realllllly wants to go so hopefully she can make it. Even so, we are stoked to work with her.
Ailton we taught last night-a reference from our zone leaders. He has already been to church 5 or 6 times in the other ward but he lives in our area. He wants to be baptized! Probably will be next week because we still need to teach him. He told us he LOVES the spirit that he feels there. Peace. Just peace and a calmness that he feels EVERY time he is there. Coincidence??Naoooooo.
The holy ghost is real folks. Even on sunday we had a lesson in gospel principles about the holy ghost. A few of the recent converts that were there shared their experiences with COMING TO KNOW that this church is really what we proclaim it to be-TRUE. That each of these people had their own experiences listening to the missionaries (or whoever introduced them to the gospel), reading the book of mormon or pamphlets and most importantly praying to know if these things are true. One convert-Marola said she didn’t even need to pray specifically, the feelings she felt in her heart in respect to these things were real and came from God. Natalia was sitting across the room from me and tears filled our eyes as we both smiled at one another reflecting on her own conversion that I got to witness.
Today as we were going to visit Olinda and even being there I felt an overwhelming sense of gratitude and love for my mission. The land of Recife, the people I’ve come to know and teach, the culture, the climate (yes even the humidity and heat)….EVERYTHING. I know without a doubt that Heavenly Father really did call me here to serve and help build the kingdom of God. I will never be able to fully express my feelings of love and appreciation for my mission experience-the good and the…hard (not bad-it was never bad). I am so grateful for the gospel of Jesus Christ that we don’t just listen to but we learn it, live it and LOVE IT. I am proud to be a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Always, and forever, It has only brought happiness into my life and into the lives of those I have served and served with here on my mission.
I love you all and appreciate your prayers and support for me and all the missionaries. This work is God’s work.
I love you all,
Sister McCleve
Wind

Wind

Wind

Wind

Funzies at Olinda

Funzies at Olinda

Funzies at Olinda

Funzies at Olinda

Sister

Sweet hats. Pernambucanas baby! (this is the pernambuco flag with the rainbow/cross/sun design)

Sweet hats. Pernambucanas baby! (this is the pernambuco flag with the rainbow/cross/sun design)

Leave a Reply

