July 14, 2014–Candeais, BRAZIL

Hey family….

So updates on this week haha man it was ROUGH. Really rough. Started out with Fabio and Ciene dropping us. We came to teach them that night, something was off as we entered and everything else just seemed to fall. They want to stay with the catholic church and they are not willing to “change religions”. Fabio hadn’t prayed directly in respect to the things we taught if they were true….go figure. I guess right now is not their time…agency agency agency. We need to respect it. Sometimes I just wish I could take them by the hand (like a parent) take them to church etc. and just say “look I know you don’t understand right now, but you will soon and you’ll thank me for helping you” but we can’t do that. That was Satan’s plan in the beginning that was REJECTED by the Father. We have the beautiful gift of agency where WE can choose for ourselves. And learn by our own experiences…but sadly (in this case with Fabio and Ciene) we choose the wrong path and have to learn from mistakes. I hope in the future other missionaries will be able to teach them again and they will progress in the gospel. I really love them.
After that Sister Silva got really sick with some nasty sinus infection that ended up taking us to the hospital for her to get an exam e tudo mais. And for some odd reason I had multiple head aches that would come and go through out the day-SUPER ANNOYING. Needless to say there was a lot of pampering time in our apartment. I hate not being able to work….drives me bonkers but at the same time we can’t work in this climate when you’re sick…unless you want to feel worse. The heat and sun is killer-even during the winter (now). 2 more sisters went home early this transfer because of serious health problems, I am counting my blessings and praying that I can finish my mission through and through.
Also because of the jogos (games) this week with the cup we stayed inside more as well. Brazil got spanked haha 7-1 ouchhhhh. Everyone was complaining and practically no one watched when they played for 3rd place which they lost as well. Haha bummer. Sounds like germany won? Sweet, NEXT. Haha as much as I love soccer, I have been irritated with the obesession at times. I guess because it’s the copa do mundo (cup of the world) and not the cup of the Celestial Kingdom or something that is ACTUALLY important haha.
 I think the highlights of my week were my studies (I’ve been learning A LOT of cool things lately) and also sunday. Sunday was pretty awesome. I woke up feeling really weighed down and as we went to church each meeting the topic was something that I needed to here to help me remember my purpose as a missionary.
1st was in RS we talked about Baptism-what do we do as missionaries, find/teach and baptize. Enough said.
2nd in gospel principles we talked about Service. Again, what are we called to do? To serve.
3rd Sacrament meeting 2 topics were discussed that were interesting 1. The importance of our bodies that we have here in mortality 2. Marriage and family
As missionaries we are here to invite others to come unto Christ, to unite and help FAMILIES return to our Heavenly Father’s presence.
These 3 hours were EXACTLY what I needed. Sunday was another testimony builder to me of the importance of church attendance.The Lord only asks us to save 1 day of the week to focus more/turn our thoughts and hearts to Him. And when we do so what happens? Prayers are answered/strength (emotionally,spiritually,and physically) and new personal revelation is received. And for that I am so grateful that we can go to church and recharge our batteries every week. I am so grateful for the sacrament which renews our covenants and cleanses us as we progress on the path of mortality. I love my Savior and as weak, full of doubt and worry, and small I may feel at times I know that He made each of us a promise that we do not have to suffer if we  turn to Him.
Doutrina e Covenios 19:16 Pois eis que eu, Deus, sofri essas coisas por todos, para que nâo precisem sofrer caso se arrpendam
Com amor,
Sister McCleve
Zone mtg

Zone mtg

Sisters

Sisters

Zone meeting funzies (our elders)

Zone meeting funzies (our elders)

TRs; Zone meeting funzies (our elders)

TRs; Zone meeting funzies (our elders)

I loveeeeee the golfs here.

I loveeeeee the golfs here.

Leave a Reply

