Jan 20, 2014– Setabul, BRAZIL

Hello familia!!! AH I AM SO HAPPY!!!!
First off I heard the Seahawks are going to the superbowl and playing the broncos haha how sick is that??? LOVED the pictures of the painted toenails green and blue haha I do miss futebol americano haha so great.
Edelson got baptized! Yes okay so story time. Friday we met with him and watched the restoration DVD which he loved. He was so pumped for his baptism. And said he’d be there at 8 in the morning sunday which we laughed and said haha no just a little before 9 so you can be interviewed for the baptism. He has to be interviewed again because of the last baptism falling through. We called the elders and they said they’d leave from their area and come to ours to do the interview. So 8:50 rolls around sunday morning we’re waiting at the chapel. Edelson doesn’t show up. 9:00….9:10 still nothing. So we call his house and the empegrada (house maid) said he’d already left. So we wait some more…I am sooo nervous and sad thinking AGAIN this baptism was falling through. SIster Montalvão and I went outside and said a prayer. I hadn’t prayed THAT hard in a while. I remember saying Heavenly Father we literally have done everything we can, and we know he is ready. Please please please help him to make it here today so he can be baptized.
We finished the prayer and went back inside and called the house one more time and the empegrada disse que he already left for CHURCH! HA THERE WAS HOPE!!!!! I was praying that he didn’t wake up and decide to go to another church on the day of his baptism haha but seriously. The next moment we saw the bus pull up,stop and leave and there he was! In his suit and tie with a triple and hymnbook in one hand and his bag with towel in the other!!!!!!!!!! I cried for 2 reasons. 1. Relief. 2. Happiness. He was baptized, it was beautiful. I asked him how he felt afterwards and said, “it’s unlike anything I’ve ever felt before….hard to describe…light….new….joy and happiness” AH 🙂 I sang Joseph Smith’s first Prayer to the tune of Come Thou Fount because I promised him I’d sing for him. The spirit was so strong and ward members actually stayed to support him 🙂 🙂 Yay!!! Heavenly Father hears our prayerS!!!!!!!!!! Testimony was strengthened and gratitude flowed from my heart that day. Especially because in this mission we baptize so much and it’s easy to get caught up in numbers. I honestly think this experience was a good reminder for me of this work that we’re doing. This is the work of Salvation, and baptism is a step in this plan. I know I’ve been humbled a lot and I am so grateful for the opportunity I had to teach Edelson and invite him to move along the path to return back to our Heavenly Father. I remember my old mission president in MDM saying “This isn’t just about baptism….we are leading these people to eternal life” That always stuck with me.
Everything else is just peachy. My companion is awesome. We work so well and really learn a lot together. She is an inspiration and honestly I feel more like a missionary being with her…I don’t know why but I am so happy. I know this is the Lord’s work. And it’s so fun to find new people to teach (which we have this week! 8 new investigators!) and be apart of something so sacred. I know that these 18 months of my life are special, and I want to make the most of them. I know I really have so far…and I don’t want to let up at all. I am here for Him. My Savior. I will never be able to do enough for Him for what He has and continues to do for me, but I know that a mission has been a piece of what I can give to Him. I love it. I love knowing that we have challenges every day and we conquer them, even if it’s grudging and stressful. We are building the kingdom of God, day in and day out. 🙂 I love it. I love my mission. I LOVE THE LORD!!!!! O Senhor é Meu Pastor.
Love you all
Sister McCleve
Transfers

Transfers

Baptism

Baptism

Leave a Reply

