Nov 18, 2013–Setubal, BRAZIL

Oi Familia!

Man I love you guys! Seriously I LOVE knowing that I will receive emails from family and friends….you are all so good to me. Thank you.
Okay this week was sweet. On tuesday as a district we decided to fast to have miracles-for baptism. We had a long trip back by bus and I was pondering and praying about our fast. As  we returned to our area Sister Menezes and I were out stopping by investigators and contacting (what we do everyyyyyyy day). We had been doing so for about an hour and all of a sudden we heard “SIsters! SIsters!!!” we turned and saw Jaquelini-a recent convert (shes 13 years old) running up to us with a big smile on her face. SHe told us she has 2 friends that want to us to teach them and be baptized! We went and met them Pauloma e Maria (12 and 14 years old). We ended up teaching them the restoration and they accepted the invitation to be baptized on the 24th of this month! I could tell Maria was hesitant and seemed more indifferent. But Pauloma was gazing at us as we taught. I knew she was totally prepared and elect. MIRACLE!!!!!  Since then we’ve taught her several times (sadly not maria as much). She even came to mutual as well with Jaqui last week. The activity was about modesty and the clothes we should wear to show respect and appreciation for ourselves and our bodies that Heavenly Father gave us. As wonderful as it was I could tell Pauloma felt uncomfortable and seemed discouraged since her clothing was a little immodest (welcome to Brazil). Sunday came along and we discovered Pauloma wasn’t at church even though she had said all week how excited she was. We found it was because she said she didn’t have the right clothes for church so Jaqui went along to church without her. Sister Menezes and I knew how much she wanted to be at church and that we had to do something to help. We ran home grabbed some clothes (thank heavens my companion is TINY) and went to Paulomas house. SHe told us she couldn’t because of not having clothes ready and her mom wanted her to stay home at the house with her brother while she was out?? Something along those lines (no, I can’t understand portuguese word for word perfectly yet haha). We talked with her and told her we brought some cute outfits for her to try on-to which she responded (her curiosity was peaked-so cute) she wanted to see. She ended up trying on a dress she really liked and we expressed how cute she looked and how great it was if she came to church with this outfit too she finally smiled and said….”eu vou” (I’ll go) AHHH she was so cute. i love her so much. And she loved church! She is reading the book of Mormon even though she can’t read very well. All I can say is that she is so prepared and is a miracle that fell into our laps. SHe has such a desire to do what is right and to learn more and more of the gospel even though she’s just 12. I can feel it from her every time I am around her. So humble and sweet-wanting to follow Jesus Christ 🙂 Her baptism is this sunday!
Woo! FASTING WORKS! ANd so does member missionary work. Jaqui’s only been a member for 3 months. I know my cousin Kate has a couple friends who have also been baptized because of her example and friendship. Let us NEVER forget what examples we are as members da Igreja de Jesus Cristo dos Santos dos Ultimos Dias! Yes.  I love this work. As hard as it is-day in and day out walking, talking, finding, teaching, and still there’s no baptisms or reactiviations or people coming to church. Well in the words of elder Holland who I love so much ; Missionary work is not easy because salvation is NOT a cheap experience” amen.
I love you all. My testimony of fasting and DILLIGENCE-keep working even when you feel unsuccessful the blessings do come. SO my dearest family and friends KEEP GOING. Trust in the Lord and you will see His hand. I know this is true.
Com Amor,
Sister McCleve
ME menezes and Torres (we live with sister orr and torres)

ME menezes and Torres (we live with sister orr and torres)

CIdade (we went there last p-day markets and such)

CIdade (we went there last p-day markets and such)

PRaia (beach) its really tempting some days to swim but there are SHARKS! and its totally against mission rules :)

PRaia (beach) its really tempting some days to swim but there are SHARKS! and its totally against mission rules 🙂

Old catholic church in Boa VIsta

Old catholic church in Boa VIsta

Hah the last picture...okay so by the trash can ( you cant really see it behind the girls) was a dish rag that was left on the floor for a couple days. I picked it up last night and out fell dozens of ants that were crawling all over our floor. muito eca! (really gross) so menezes being the champ that she is yanked my flip flop off my foot and started smacking all the ants....you can see little black dots on the floor-yes all dead ants. BIG ones too. Ya Bem Vindo ao Brasil haha. I can handle seeing/killing1 cockroach running around (we deal with them weekly)....but multiple ants freaked me out haha

Hah the last picture…okay so by the trash can ( you cant really see it behind the girls) was a dish rag that was left on the floor for a couple days. I picked it up last night and out fell dozens of ants that were crawling all over our floor. muito eca! (really gross) so menezes being the champ that she is yanked my flip flop off my foot and started smacking all the ants….you can see little black dots on the floor-yes all dead ants. BIG ones too. Ya Bem Vindo ao Brasil haha. I can handle seeing/killing1 cockroach running around (we deal with them weekly)….but multiple ants freaked me out haha

Leave a Reply

