11th Letter- Grand Blancs (5th letter in the field)–June 10, 2013

With Sister Filmore at zone conference (she came on the exchange with us the first time-love her)

With Sister Filmore at zone conference (she came on the exchange with us the first time-love her)

With President/Sister Holmes LOVE THEM!

With President/Sister Holmes LOVE THEM!

We went to the temple Thursday . I listened to the session in portuguese SOOOOO cool. Can't wait.

We went to the temple Thursday . I listened to the session in portuguese SOOOOO cool. Can’t wait.

We went to the temple thursday and sister Remy was there.

We went to the temple thursday and sister Remy was there.

Happy rainy monday.

It’s pouring outside. There are massive puddles everywhere and people are soaked walking out of their cars into a store/building etc. I thought we were going to hydroplane earlier as we drove here to email haha. SCARY.
So glad to hear everyone back home is doing well and thanks for you others that have sent me letters and emails I’ll try and get back to you as soon as I can. I feel so loved. THANK YOU for all of the support encouragement and prayers.
This week was interesting. Sister Smithson our companion who dislocated her knee (twice with her right, 5 times with her left) went home to get surgery. She’ll be gone at least 6 months. So now it’s just sister Thompson and I for this last week of the transfer here in Grand Blanc and then come tuesday the 18th….we’ll see. I could move or stay-not sure what president will decide. But I’m going to have to be in a trio because my visa could come at any time and then I’m gone leaving my companion so we’ll need 2 others to be with me. I’ll let you know in a week!
This week’s highlights
Zone conference and the Temple!!!!
Zone conference was absolutely incredible. I swear President Holmes could be an apostle. I’m sure most missionaries feel like that about their presidents haha but it’s true. These are inspired men that receive revelation as to what they can do to help guide, oversee and strengthen these missionaries! So grateful that I had the opportunity to come here to the MDM (Michigan Detroit Mission) and meet President and Sister Holmes. They are incredible and have really shown me a lot of love being a visa waiter and all.
At zone conference we discussed about conversion and how we can TRULY become more consecrated missionaries. I realized that my heart hasn’t been in the right place. To put it simply-I came here because I got reassigned because my visa didn’t come through yet. I was disappointed but excited thinking that this would be a little pit stop/adventure until I got to my REAL mission etc. But the fact of the matter is, I am still a missionary. No matter where I go and for how long I’m there. Since I’ve been here in Michigan I haven’t wanted to accept that. I know now that I truly am an emissary of the Lord and wherever He wants me to go, I’ll go and be what He wants me to be. It doesn’t matter what I want, I’m not here for me. I’m here for Him, to serve and to invite others. Needless to say I’ve done a lot of praying, pondering and re-evaluating and I’ve felt so much better as I’ve done that. It’s not easy, people continue to ask “when are you leaving for brazil?, how long are you here?, oh it must be hard not being able to speak Portuguese like you did in the mtc etc. when do you find out about your visa?” and when I used to get so depressed thinking about all of that, now I just respond “I don’t know, the whenever the Lord needs me to go. It’s in His time, He has a plan and right now that plan is me being here”. So lesson learned: This isn’t about Me. It’s about the Lord. And the people I am serving. So let it go and work like you’re here forever.
On thursday we were able to attend the temple and I was able to listen to the temple session in Portuguese. Wonderful experience. Truly was wonderful to feel the spirit there and understand and feel Heavenly Father’s love for me even in another language ๐Ÿ™‚ Incredible. There at the temple I saw one of my companions from the MTC Sister Remy and we spoke in portuguese to one another and it felt soooooo good. Ah you can only learn so much by reading and listening, you’ve got to SPEAK your language to really get it down. I know that whenever I get to brazil that I’m going to have a rude awakening with the language barrier but I know that I’m going to rely on the Lord and try my best to do all I can to learn it and it will come. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so grateful for temples and for the peace and holiness we feel there. I am especially grateful to know that through temples we can be sealed to our family for time and ALL eternity. Never to be lost after death. We talk to so many people that have lost a loved one and you can see the pain and anguish they feel thinking that they won’t see them again. My heart aches for them and I wish they could understand what I know already. And grew up knowing, families can be together forever through Heavenly Father’s plan. I always want to be with my own family and the Lord has shown me how I can. The Lord has shown me how I can. Even a primary song can have SUCH a deep impact on one’s life ๐Ÿ™‚
On Sunday I spoke in sacrament meeting about how ” The love of one man can influence great good. How my dad helped me become who I am”. The stake presidency happened to be visiting that day so I was nervous. But mainly nervous that I would bawl my eyes out because of how much I wish my dad could be there to hear me speak. I prayed for strength to not cry and I didn’t once! Now I know that this is weird to you (family) since you all know I’ve never been an emotional girl really, especially at the pulpit in sacrament meeting. But since I’ve been out on my mission I’ve become such-strangest thing haha. It makes me laugh thinking about it. So I really was worried I would sob but I didn’t. I talked about how as dad has influenced me and my life and helped me become who I am, that our Heavenly Father helps us become who He wants us to be. Especially because many people don’t have a good relationship with their father, or might not know them etc. But we do have a loving, patient, merciful Heavenly Father who IS ALWAYS there for us. And will never turn away and leave us alone. He wants us to be happy and He wants more than anything for us to return back to live with Him again and become like Him. He is perfect in every way and yet He still cares and knows each little thing about us individually and very intimately as His children. How grateful I am to know and to share with others this message. We are children of a loving Heavenly Father. ๐Ÿ™‚
I’m out of time but I hope this letter had some insightful things that helped you. I know the gospel is true and “When were are in the service of our fellow beings we are only in the service of our God” ๐Ÿ™‚
Love you all! May God continue to bless you each and every day as He already does if we but look for the tender mercies-they are there.
Love,
Sister McCleve
Leave a Reply

