6th Letter–MTC–April 30, 2013

Hey family and friends πŸ™‚
Okay so this is possibly my last email here from the MTC but I’m not sure yet. Depends on my reassignment which will come this weeK! Crazy! It’s like getting a mission call all over again-can I handle it??? Haha yes. Tudo bem, tudo bem. I could go anywhere from montana to florida so be ready πŸ™‚
Anyways because this is our last full week they changed our p-day so today (tuesday) is our preparation day (p-day, in case you never understood what the was). Okay so friday (which was my last p-day) was AWESOME. I woke up way early and emailed/did laundry and then our district went to the temple πŸ™‚ I love that they let us missionaries go to the temple EVERY week while you’re in the MTC-such a wonderful blessing and opportunity to serve and to learn more of Heavenly Father’s plan for us. My eternal perspective is strengthened every time I attend the temple, I hope to continue to go there often for the rest of my life.
After we got back from the temple we went outside because the weather here in provo has been so nice lately. 60’s-70’s, it feels like summer and I couldn’t be happier. I LOVE THE SUN! I even got sunburt hahaha (sorry Aunt Robin πŸ˜‰ ) I should’ve taken a picture of it because my pale skin hadn’t had that much vitamin D exposure in ages-t’was great. Our district lounged in the sun during our personal time-writing letters and playing hackey sack. We then wanted to get some wiggles out, since we’re in class practically all day every day. We played “bunny bunny” and “King bull frog”, oh the joys that come from being an efy counselor haha you always have random games to play up your sleeve that teens like and even missionaries haha. It was so much fun the elders were being so so silly it was great. We then had Sister Dana lead our district in a yoga session. Yes, yoga. Pretty sure no other district has ever considered such an idea in the MTC but we do it outside in the grass together and it’s awesome/hilarious. I’ll attach a picture of some of our elders doing a warrior pose. Our district really has a lot of unity…I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that before, but we do. You see a lot of other districts around that study in class but they don’t eat together at the cafeteria or sit together at devotionals etc. Our district does everything together and we like it that way. I know that my MTC experience would’ve been so so so different had I not been with these other elders and sisters. I am so grateful for them. I know that I wouldn’t have been able to get through so much of what gets thrown at you on a mission if they weren’t here with me. I love them all so much and I know we were placed in eachothers lives for a reason πŸ™‚ I wish you could meet them all. They are incredible and although I’m the oldest, I look up to them and they are each examples to me in their own way. It’s been wonderful.
Saturday we taught 3 lessons in one day- here that seems like a bit much but in the field that will be minimal! haha I have a long way to go. It was fantastic! We had one that we taught for TRC where it’s a random investigator that we’ve never met/1st time/one time visit. Her name was abigail and we taught her about the restoration and the Book of Mormon. My portuguese has improvedΒ a bit and I was able to share much more than I anticipated. The spirit was so strong, again strengthening my testimony of the truthfulness of our message. You can’t deny it when you feel it. Peace, warmth, goodness all in one. It just feels right. After the lesson she told us we did so well and that she had served a mission in Brasilia Brazil. She told us that the people of Brazil are so grateful for that fact that we as sisters are even there sharing a message that means so much to us. She said to not stress about perfecting the language because it’s about what they feel, not what you say. Her words brought me so much comfort and I left that lesson feeling more motivated to be a better and humble missionary. This is HIS work, not ours. But the Lord’s πŸ™‚ We are simply instruments in His hands, and I love it.
Sunday sister Oscarson (the new general YW president) came and spoke in relief society. We met her afterwards briefly, such a cool lady. She talked a lot about how we are participating in the gathering of Israel and that our respond to the prophets call is historical. There is work to be done, and we are prepared and willing to serve. She complimented us a lot and commended us for our desire to serve. Again, I’m so glad I decided to come and serve a mission πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else right now.
Later we went on a temple walk and took some pictures (I forgot my camera but I’ll get some from my companions). It was such a nice day again as we walked around among the hundreds of missionaries that flock to the temple on sundays ahha I love it.
That night we had a devotional with Brother Stephan Allen who is the managing director here at the MTC. It was awesome! He’s so funny, totally has a dry sense of humor like I do sometimes haha I love people like that. Very blunt and straight to the point (like Elder Holland). He talked a lot about how satan knows our buttons, and likes to push them. He’s ticked off that I’m here, serving the Lord and helping to save souls who are lost and know not where to go. Hearing him say that revved me a bit (not in bad way, but motivating) it reminded me of that quote that read “Be that person that when you get up in the morning and you’re feet hit the floor Satan thinks ‘oh crap, she’s up’ ” HAHA. I know that sharing this message of happiness and love does nothing but displeases the adversary. He loathes us all, especially our Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. He wants us to be miserable like He is, He is real. But we can overcome his temptations and fiery darts he tries to throw at us in life through our Savior Jesus Christ because HE is the way, the truth and the light. There is an opposition in all things. And He is our biggest opposition.
Later we watched a talk by Elder Holland. Incredible-I love that man. I wish I could’ve been with the Jacobsen clan when he came and stayed with them in Florida. I would love to meet and chat with him someday. He talked about us needing to appreciate living in the last dispensation. We are so blessed to live at a time where the gospel of Jesus Christ has been restored to the earth. With living prophets and apostles, ordinances, true doctrine. He also went on to say that if we do it right, are obedient and work hard that our mission will be a time in our life where we are closest to God. Oh how I yearn for that, again I left that fireside more motivated than before. The Lord is teaching me so much. And I’m changing. Change is good, I need to be better, I want to be better, it feels good to be better. Heavenly Father knows it makes us happy when we are striving to become more like Him πŸ™‚
I have to go!
I love you all, can’t wait to let you all know where I’m going!
Love,
Sister McCleve
Beautiful Preparation Day in Provo, Utah

Beautiful Preparation Day in Provo, Utah

IMG_0353 IMG_0269

Leave a Reply

