3rd Letter–MTC–12 April, 2013

In front of the Provo temple with my district.  We are all waiting for our Visas.

In front of the Provo temple with my district. We are all waiting for our Visas.

The McCleve tradition continues.......

The McCleve tradition continues…….

Finding friends at the MTC (Sister King)

Finding friends at the MTC (Sister King)

Hey family!

Okay so I guess this is my 2nd email but technically my 3rd week? Anyways hi!
 Thanks for the letters, I feel so loved! I’ve heard from so many different friends and family and it just makes my world light up. I’ve never felt so socially isolated in my life haha. I love hearing about everything going on back at home.
Well first of all I’m still here, alive, well breathing. Not sick at all anymore so that is a plus. I just realized I forgot to bring my journal that I would use to kind of outline what I’d say…pits. I guess I’m just going to be rummaging through my brain here for the next little bit trying to tell you all about this last week.
Well conference was after last p-day so we’ll start there. Okay over the last couple years I’ve learned to appreciate conference so much more. Mainly because I actually tried to pay attention and came to the realization that these were prophets and apostles of God that were speaking to us. Hellllllllo! Big deal? I think so. Anyways the themes I saw from this general conference session were:
The importance of familes and having our homes centered on the Savior
Missionary work 😉 I may or may not have really appreciated that tehe
As we draw near to Christ, so He does with us. But we need to reach out to Him.
I made an effort to prayerfully consider a couple questions going into conference and to have them answered. They were and I am so grateful for the power of prayer. I know that those talks/topics were inspired. I’m so grateful for modern day revelation and for the guidance and admonition that our church leaders give us. Ps. I LOVED Dallin H. Oak’s talk about the new testament stories of the Savior and how today our church exemplifies that as well. So good.
So this week (I’m so sorry I can’t remember the days that well)…Oh we sang in the MTC choir for devotional and guess what song we sang?? Be Still My Soul-my favorite Hymn. It was SUCH a sweet 4 part arrangement SATB. I love singing alto. Our conductor is such a stud, he’s so fun and totally gets into the lyrics and the why’s of the song. I actually feel like I just came out of a fireside after we practice with him. As we rehearsed he’d interrupt us and ask us what we’d want people to say about our performance. Typically we’d expect or like to hear “Oh you guys were great, sounded so beautiful, oh I just cried and cried etc.” but He said, who is this song really about? The Savior. And then he said ” I think what would be most fulfilling to hear is some stating that hearing this song brought their thoughts to Christ and his comforting power that is extended to all”-wow. I just soaked that up and never wanted to let it go. Gerald Lund (released general authority) spoke that night. I saw his name and thought, Man that looks familiar and then I realized I have one of his books! “Hearing the Voice of The Lord” a book about receiving revelation-so good. I know I wrote about it in the other hand written letter I sent. So as soon as I realized that I hoped that He’d talk about revelation and sure enough he did! All of my district was freaking out afterwards “Oh my goodness that was so great, I never realized this blah blah blah”. He highlighted some key points that I remembered reading about in his book. I think my favorite thing he mentioned though as a side note was something many members seem to receive called “hormonal revelation” haha I’ll just let you chew on that for a while and see what you come up with. 🙂
This week we taught 2 new investigators. Joaquim and Marcello. Marcello is a bit more expressive and seems to really enjoy learning about the Book of Mormon. But again I can only understand so much. Often times our trio comes out of a lesson comparing what each of us thought we heard haha. We have to work together to put together what our investigator needs or just details about him. Learning a new language has been beyond humbling haha but I love it. And I’m so grateful that I get to learn a new language. Although I’ve been told by natives that are here in the MTC that the portuguese we learn here really won’t do much for us once we get to Recife….oh boy. Oh well, it’s all part of the experience right!?
Neat experience happened with Marcello in our 2nd lesson about the restoration. I had just been working on memorizing the first vision quote in PMG. But with our lesson plan Sister Remy was going to talk more about the first vision and she was going to recite that line. The lesson seemed to be going fine as each of us mustered out broken phrases in portuguese to this oh so patient investigator. I turned to Sister Remy giving her a nod for her to go ahead and say her part but she shook her head. Sister Orr and I both looked at eachother not knowing what to do….I then felt prompted to go ahead and recite that quote myself. Slowly but surely I did, and the next thing I knew I was overwhelmed with emotion. As soon as I finished quoting Joseph I then bore my testimony of the truthfulness of the restoration and that Joseph Smith did see God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ. I wish I could describe how I felt. But words fail me to do so entirely. I just felt conviction, integrity and without a shadow of a doubt that what I was testifying us was true. I’m so grateful for that experience, I know that the spirit is EAGER to be that witness of truth as we share our testimonies with others. To see the light in Marcellos eyes as I shared my testimony with him, I wanted that moment to last. You know when someone is feeling the spirit and receiving truth that touches their heart. The atmosphere in the room completely changed in a matter of seconds. I can’t believe that I get the privilege to share this message of truth and HAPPINESS with other people that “are looking for the truth, but know not where to find it”.I know this gospel is true and blesses families. It does nothing but good for everyone. Why wouldn’t someone want that?
I have to get going but I wanted to end on an experience that will forever remain close to my heart. 🙂 I love you all thanks again so much for your love and support. Being a missionary is the hardest thing I’ve EVER done in my life, but the blessings are beyond what I feel I deserve. 🙂 The Lord loves us, all of us.
Eu amo este evangelho.
Thanks for everything and remember that when times are tough-SERVE someone!
Love,
Sister McCleve (mick-lev-ee) haha I think I’ve forgotten how to say my name in an american accent.
Leave a Reply

